Outreachy Introduction Week 1 Blog

Outreachy Introduction Week 1 Blog

Hello Everyone! I am Medhavi Singh, a third-year computer science student from India. I love exploring different tech fields. I have a keen interest in web development, Open Source, and Cloud Computing. I am currently working as an Outreachy Intern for the Ceph organization and I am looking forward to the great journey ahead.

My core values are Community, knowledge, and respect.

Community
I have always believed in the power of community. Being a part of my college community made me realize that working in a team helps you in achieving goals that earlier seemed impossible to you. During the contribution phase of Outreachy, the community involvement helped me a lot in clearing my doubts and asking my questions without any hesitation. I am thankful to every person who helped me whenever I asked any questions. I also try to help others in resolving their doubts. The community is a safe place for beginners too as this allows them to get engage with more experienced people and learn from them.

Knowledge
I believe that knowledge is the sole reason why we study in a college or work as an intern for any company. We all have different reasons for gaining knowledge. Some of us want to get our dream job, some want to complete their thesis while some just want to pass their exams. Knowledge helps us to make better decisions. Time invested in gaining knowledge is never wasted. When you try to work on a project, you first learn how to approach the solution, this learning phase is gaining knowledge then you apply that knowledge to build the product and during this journey, you will also face some errors. For solving those errors, you will do some modifications to your code, this learning also adds up to your knowledge. You can use this knowledge for your next project or you can help others too.

Respect

Respect is something that I believe maintains professional boundaries. It is very important to respect your teammates and your mentor. We should know how to speak properly and take care of our behavior while dealing with others. This is something that I believe is very important if we want all the team members to work together and achieve a common goal successfully. If you want others to respect your time you have to respect their time.

What motivates me to apply to Outreachy?
I came to know about Outreachy in my first year when I was exploring different opportunities for college students. When I learned about Outreachy, I thought this is the right platform to enhance my skills and get involved in the community. The aim of Outreachy to motivate girls in technology to get involved in Open source inspired me to apply for this amazing opportunity. In my second year, I applied for Outreachy and luckily I also got selected for the contribution phase. But unfortunately, I was not able to balance my college routine and contribution phase since everything was so new and overwhelming for me, I haven't got selected for the final internship. This year I applied again and by the grace of god this year I was able to balance, the mid sem exam, regular classes, 75% attendance, and contribution phase all at once and made it to the Internship. I was literally crying when I received the selection mail. I am very thankful to all the Outreachy organizers for providing such an amazing platform to us.